There are three levels of apprenticeships:

Intermediate Level apprenticeship (Level 2)

Working towards work-based qualifications such as a Level 2, competence qualification, as well as Functional skills and in most cases a relevant knowledge-based qualification. The qualifications you receive are equivalent to five GCSEs at grades A–C.

Advanced Level apprenticeship (Level 3)

You can expect to gain a work-based qualification such as a Level 3 competence qualification, as well as Functional skills and (in most cases) a relevant knowledge-based qualification. These qualifications are equivalent to two A-levels.

Higher Apprenticeship (Level 4 or above)

You’ll work towards work-based learning qualifications such as a Level 4 competence qualification and perhaps a learning-based qualification, Functional Skills and, in some cases, a knowledge-based qualification such as a Foundation Degree.

The Government is committed to expanding the number, range and quality of apprenticeships that offer training to degree level.

To view apprenticeships that are available at Higher and Degree level, click here.

Dive Right in, Start Your Apprenticeship Search Now

Or still want to find out a little more first? Read our FAQ’s or visit our guidance section.

Follow our socials for apprenticeship tips and resources: